Below you will find a listing of conferences in the area of innovative payments and regulation that the EMA sponsors or supports.

IAMTN-GMTS London 2013

Global money transfer summit 2013,  29 – 30 October 2013, London, UK

Thaer Sabri, the EMA Chief Executive set out the changes that are proposed in the 4th Money Laundering Directive and Wire Transfer Regulation. He described the changes in the FATF Forty Recommendations and Guidance on New Payment Products and Services, that are reflected in the new text. He also provided a overview of the impact on payment service providers.

IAMTN-GMTS London 2013 Read More »

PayExpo 2013

PayExpo201318 – 19 June 2013, ExCel London, UK

Thaer Sabri, the EMA Chief Executive set out developments in anti money laundering regulation set out in the FATF 40 and the revised EU Directive.

PayExpo 2013 Read More »

EMA conference 2011: The evolution of e-money and payment institutions; new opportunities, new challenges.

We organised this conference on 29 and 30 November 2011 at the Crowne Plaza, Brussels ‘Le palace’.

Crowne Plaza, Brussels 'Le palace'
Crowne Plaza, Brussels ‘Le palace’

The conference focused on how e-money and payment institutions are changing and the new opportunities for industry and challenges for regulations that this creates.

What did the conference address?

The conference reviewed the evolution of e-money and alternative payment products over the last few years and invited issuers and payment service providers to describe developments that are likely to emerge. The EU regulatory model was compared to that of the US, Japan, Australia and the recently adopted Russian legislation.

We addressed topics that are currently the focus of regulatory discussion, such as the review of AML legislation, the outsourced business model, the use of agents and distributors, as well as passporting.

The conference brought together the industry and regulators with an interest in Emoney and innovative payments to discuss developments and shared challenges.

Speakers included:

  • Alex Hoffman, PayPal France
  • Ben Steyn, Skrill
  • Caroline Gardner, FCA
  • Des Hellicar-Bowman, Vincento
  • Fabienne Weibel, PayPal
  • Jane Zavalishina, Yandex Money LLC
  • Javier Martell, Boku Inc
  • John Burns, FCA
  • John Plank, National Crime Agency
  • Mahmed Yurtcicek, Banking Regulation and Supervision Agency of Turkey
  • Mark Watkins, Voicecash
  • Michael Muller, PaysafeCard
  • Mike Smith, Raphaels Bank
  • Paul Townsend, WorldPay (Envoy Services)
  • Peter Howitt, Transact Network Limited
  • Philippe Pelle, European Commission
  • Ray Brush, PrePay Solutions
  • Dr Rhys Bollen, Australian Securities & Investments Commission
  • Shri G Padmanabhan, Reserve Bank of India
  • Stan Rubin, Ukash
  • Taiji Inui, NTT Data Corporation, Bank of Japan
  • Tobias Mackie, European Commission
  • Tobias Shreyer, PPRO GmbH

A printable version of the conference programme can be downloaded as a .pdf file (421.30Kb)

EMA conference 2011: The evolution of e-money and payment institutions; new opportunities, new challenges. Read More »